Answering some questions from verbalspew.

verbalspew nominated me for The Liebster Award! I’m honored, and I am going to hold off on nominating any others until a later date when I follow more people. But I will answer her questions. So here goes.

1. What is your very first childhood memory?

My earliest memory is of me as a two-year-old. I remember opening a bottom drawer in a dresser, and then having someone come behind me and close it. I think this was around the time that we were moving to a new area. I still open peoples drawers and cupboards when I’m at their houses because I am a horrible, nosy person. Yes, I probably know all of the medications you’re on. Sorry.

2. You’ve hit the big-time. You’ve just won the Nobel Peace Prize. You’ve won the lottery. You’ve gained fame by ruthlessly pursuing the monsters that kidnapped a family member. You’ve been put in jail because you’re just too damn good-looking and the safety of singletons everywhere is threatened by your freedom. They’re making a movie about you. Who plays you, why, and what is the movie called?

I used to do this in highschool. `Look at all of my friends and try to figure out who would play them in a movie, and then hold long discussions about it that always took up entire evenings. I could never figure out myself, because I honestly think I’m pretty weird-looking. I was totally okay with casting Charlize Theron as my best friend; but myself? I dunno. Even though he looks nothing like me, I’ll pick Matt Bomer because he’s actually gay, a good role model, good-looking, and a good actor. Also, clearly this is some sort of movie about the undead. Because I can handle that shit. And the movie is called They do shoot zombies, don’t they?

Yes they do, Virginia, yes they do.

3. It’s midnight and you’re hungry. What is your go-to snack?

Looks like I’m breaking out the box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

4. The old hypothetical dinner party conundrum. You can invite any four people, alive or dead, famous or not, to a dinner party. Who do you invite and why?

Honestly, I’ve become so disillusioned by famous people and public figures that I’d probably just invite my four best friends (including my partner) and just have a damn good time talking and playing Cards Against Humanity.

5. What do you want to be when you grow up?

I still want to be an artist, and actually have the willpower to do it. I’m pretty good at it, just too distracted all the time. I also fantasize about being a novelist, and am currently writing a fantasy novel. Also, independently wealthy.

6. What do you do to unwind after a tough day?

It’s terrible, but I usually go home and browse Reddit for hours. Or catch up on marathonning whatever tv show I’ve been watching on Netflix/Hulu. Mondays are Breaking Bad, Fridays are Project Runway.

7. If you could be an animal for a day what animal would you be?

An owl, probably. I really just want to fly around and explore and not be bothered by things trying to eat me. Or a dragon, but I’d probably be shot down with missiles these days.

8. Do you have a guilty, secret pleasure that you think you probably shouldn’t? Like Reality TV, or Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen? Tell me!

Wow, guilty and secret…? I am pretty open about the things that most people would consider guilty pleasures. But maybe the song Tarzan Boy, by Baltimora. OH oh! Total Eclipse of the Heart by Bonnie Tyler and All Coming Back To Me by Celine Dion. I’m a sucker for melodramatic Meatloaf-penned songs.

9. There has been an “atmospheric phenomenon” and you wake up with a superpower. You can make yourself invisible at whim. Who do you spy on, and why?

Henry Cavill. Because seriously, look at him. Have you seen The Tudors?

10. I’m sure you have a lovely name, but if you could change it to anything, what name would you choose?

Probably David. It’s my middle name and I’ve always liked it more than my first name.

11. Star Wars or Star Trek? If neither, you’d better have a damn good reason.

Star Trek. I used to watch The Next Generation back in elementary school, and I always liked the philosophies behind the various stories. And it was always so open-ended, there was infinite possibility without ever jumping the shark. Plus, I had a little-boy crush on Deanna Troi. Little boy crushes are weird. I think a “crush” to me in elementary school was the equivalent of wanting someone to be my mom. Not that my mom was bad at all, but I also wanted Cindy Crawford to be my mom. Kids are weird.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. verbalspew says:

    I love all of those songs in your guilty pleasures… :O

    Great answers! Am still laughing over Cindy Crawford as your mom! 😀 Oh, and I open cabinets and drawers too, I don’t know why I do it, one of these days I’ll find something I really wish I hadn’t. Thank you for taking the time to answer my weird questions!

    1. antaesthetic says:

      No problem, it’s fun! And hmm, finding something you wish you hadn’t, that sounds like a great story opener, actually… Next novel idea!

      1. verbalspew says:

        Like a severed head? There aren’t enough severed heads rolling around if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

