Miley’s “Wrecking Ball” vs. Medina’s “Happy”

I like to point out comparisons between songs when I notice them, and then google and see if anyone else has mentioned them first. This one I haven’t noticed in results, but because I listen to Pandora too much, it comes up and reminds me that I need to make this post. This is my contribution of the day to the interwebz.

Everyone knows “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus, and it’s actually the song that won me over for Miley, and I think she’s very talented. But is the song original? Of course not, it’s pop music we’re talking about here. Most importantly, the riff in the beginning of the song really stood out for me.

Here is Medina’s “Happy” (2010):

Here is Miley’s “Wrecking Ball” (2013):

It really just sounds like a pitched up version of the riff from Medina’s song. Clearly, the rest of the song is quite different, but it was pretty surprising and I thought I’d share.

Now, moving on, the chorus of Medina’s “Happy” cracks me up every time, because it reminds me of this:

Every. time. Can’t keep a straight face if/when that Medina song comes on…

Leave a Reply

