iamamiwhoami – “fountain”

Well, I’m not sure how I missed this, but iamamiwhoami released a new video last week. It appears to be similar to the in-between videos “; john” and “clump” in that it acts more as a connecting video between the worlds/storylines in each set. This one is called “fountain” and features the character in a boat on the sea, as well as dancing on the beach in a plastic body-condom-parka-thing. And lots of landscapes and new settings for potential future from past videos… The music itself is airy and I definitely can draw more comparisons to Fever Ray (but not so much sound-wise) and Grimes this time around, and I was reminded a bit of Ellie Goulding’s “Anything Could Happen” video. Also… do I spot Jonna sporting the side-buzz haircut too? And for whatever reason, I kept mentally singing Adele’s “Set Fire to the Rain” somewhere in there…

Story-wise, we pick up with the box imagery from the end of the last album. Now, instead of a black or white box, the box is now a clear tank with a fish inside. As I continue to suspect, the last album was all about the loss of the “clump” lover and/or a child. I haven’t really made up my mind whether or not the whole child imagery was a matter of miscarriage, or if the child still exists somewhere. Time will tell in this album, I guess. But either way, the character is out in a boat, spreading the ashes of someone… presumably the clump… or the child…  Blank pages floating around, an unwritten story… This seems to be a new-beginning chapter, a rebirth through water, seemingly leaving the constraints of the modern world and heading back to nature. The video ends and the fish tank is empty. She’s gone to find a new home. But where?

The song is not my favorite, but I’m sure it will work its way into my consciousness. All I know is that I’m excited to see what comes next; iamamiwhoami is an artistic voice I’ve been missing, and I’m excited for new entries in the growing mythology.

Leave a Reply

