Back to the Grind.

Whoah. I am not good at this blogging thing.

I am effing rusty. I’ve lost writer-voice a little bit, and it’s going to take some time to get myself back into that mental space where I can create mental outlines of posts before I start typing, rather than write a whole epic poem that uses too many adverbs. I’m really just trying to “show up at the canvas” and practice until it becomes effortless again.

It’s been over a year since I’ve posted and at the time I was going through a major overhaul of ideas, habits, and focuses. I was switching formats, investing in projects, gathering an uncomfortably large inventory of “stuff” and really ready to jump into a new business venture. And a few things happened to just change my attention span entirely. To keep it short and sweet, I focused more on my day job and everything else became secondary again. It’s a little scary how easy that can happen. You really do have to go all in sometimes, and… I didn’t. So now I’m in this weird place where I’m really wanting to go all in but with a lot less momentum than I had last year. All I know is that I have learned to keep my projects a lot more secretive and stop announcing stuff before I have a working product. It’s irritatingly easy to change midstream once you’ve already told people your plan.

Since last June, I’ve seen a deluge of films, played numerous video games, made lots of food, and procrastinated a whole damn lot on most everything else. But wow, life sure did go on. In particular, I feel a desire to create a follow-up to my  “Separating the Art from the Artist” post that still seems to be getting hits today. Mostly because of how much has changed since then, and how much more prevalent the “this person is offensive, let’s remove them from existence!” trend is in the media. (It’s absolutely amazing, and mostly terrifying.)

So, this post works as an update and a bit of a “wants” list for things to come. In the coming weeks, I’d like to share more about:

  • Movies: As usual, there is no shortage of filmic viewership in my home. I’ve watched pretty much every movie that has caught my interest on Netflix and Redbox, seen a few in the theatre, and had plenty of opinions about them. The worst part is now that I’ve seen them it’s a little bit hard to retroactively review them. I may just need to suck it up and make a post about the movies I’ve seen, throwing them into really vague categories of “Liked/Loved/Hated/Well, at least it was pretty.” We’ll see, but I will probably start a blank slate after that and just post about films that I’ve seen recently enough to comment on the details. Did I like Guardians of the Galaxy? Do I think Scarlett Johansson is a good actress? Do I effing love CGI over practical effects? Stay tuned!
  • Television: Is it still television if you don’t watch it on a television, and you binge-watch it on Netflix? I dunno, but between new episodes of Orange is the New Black, Sense8, and Bloodline—I have a metric shit-ton to talk about. And yet, I already watched them, so… this may be another comprehensive list post for now.
  • Games: My collection is growing, and I’m now the owner of almost every notable console from the NES era to the X360 era. Still haven’t made the leap to the Xbone, PS4, or the New3DWiiU+XPv4.0.1.2. I have a lot to talk about, and I’ve been thinking about creating a segment about being “Late to the Game” since many of the games I’ve begun playing are older than most YouTube millionaires these days.
  • Music: My music interests haven’t exactly changed, but the people who “do it for me” certainly have. Sometimes you just have to realize that the artists you’ve been watching for years just seem to be speaking to a different audience, and are growing apart from what you’ve liked about them. Sometimes new artists come along and fill that void in part, and there’s still room for those prior artists to come back around on their next album. I’ll talk about that a bit more, and share some of my favorite songs from the past year.
  • Food: I haven’t made a lot of different foods, but I’ve been obsessed with Korean and have sourced some great grocers in my area that have made my obsession a lot more accessible. I’ve only posted about Dakgangjeong but I have plenty of other things to share.
  • Vintage: I hate to say it, but sometimes these things become a little too much about the journey than they do about the end product. It became very enjoyable to go treasure hunting at thrift stores, yard sales, and antique shops to find more things in what I was considering a “curated” collection. That’s great, but when I started to fill a room with merchandise and then needed to buy a replacement car on short notice, my priorities changed. So, in order to catch up and work towards some other goals like paying off debts and starting the search for a home to buy, I’ve started a purge to reprioritize where my money is going and where it is. There’s something liberating about getting rid of a ton of things and keeping only your favorite things. At this point, talking about vintage items will probably only be in conjunction with something I’ve created—perhaps I’ll design a chair based on a midcentury design or something.
  • More frequent, less combined posts: Looking back, I realize that I made a lot of odd decisions in my posting history. Instead of making a single post about a horror movie, I’d combine it with Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, and that’s just silly. I will probably spread out my reviews and posts a lot more, allowing them to publish on a schedule to keep this blog a little more consistent over time. I may set a little more time aside on the weekend or during lunch in order to schedule multiple posts for the week rather than one big one.
  • More shit I can’t even imagine. I can’t even. Can you even?

So, I’ll drink a little more coffee here and just get started before I write 2 more pages of this drivel. See you on the flippity-flip.

Leave a Reply

